Rain

701569_24407567It’s raining where I live right now in Phoenix. I grew up liking the rain, probably because it happens so rarely here.

Spending time in different parts of the world gave me a different perspective of rain. I remember one abnormally large rain storm when I was living in Mexico. I left the dry warmth of my house in the middle of the night because I knew that the storm had to have blown houses away, leaving entire families to huddle together under mattresses, cardboard, and blankets. The local government opened the high school as a shelter from the rain so I drove around offering rides to anyone who wanted to leave their belongings and at least be dry. I drove a lot of those people back to their houses the next day only to find what the storm hadn’t damaged, thieves had stolen.

In El Salvador, I met a few families whose houses had literally slid down a hill during a mudslide caused by a bad rain.

In Nicaragua, I met an entire community of 500+ people that had been permanently displaced by Hurricane Mitch, never to return to their demolished neighborhood.

I remember driving around the day after the big storm in Mexico. I saw clothes, books, blankets, and school work all hanging out to dry. It rained again the next night.

Rain falls on the rich and the poor. It’s a simple but profound reality.

Rainy days are a reminder to pray for families that are huddled together for warmth.

Rainy days are a reminder that the work is far from done.

Rainy days are a reminder to be thankful for what I have.

This is the house we returned to the next day. Their house was destroyed and everything they owned had been stolen during the night.

This is the house we returned to the next day. Their house was destroyed and everything they owned had been stolen during the night.

This family had just earned a new home through the 1MISSION process. Just days before this storm they were living in (what is in this picture) a pile of scrap wood and trash.

This family had just earned a new home through the 1MISSION process. Just days before this storm they were living in (what is in this picture) a pile of scrap wood and trash.

2 thoughts on “Rain

  1. Pingback: Having Fun | GOOD MUD

  2. aaah, I think of the same thing when it rains. I can’t help. In SE Asia, it rains half the year, and doesn’t rain at all the other half. The first rain is very special.

Leave a Reply

