Having Fun

I wrote this post while sitting at a park under a shade tree. A few minutes before being at the park, I was sitting in my house talking about how beautiful it was outside.

So we walked to the park near our house.

I started thinking about how easy it was for us to walk 5 minutes to the park near our house, lay out a blanket, and just enjoy the weather. Then I started to think about a previous post about how rain falls on the rich and the poor. The flip side to that is that good weather can be enjoyed by the rich and the poor alike. From there, my brain started to wonder what people living in material poverty do to enjoy the weather.

I took the picture below when we went with some friends to an abandoned boat dock in Mexico. People would wait for the tide to be just right and then spend the afternoon jumping in, climbing out, and doing it again and again.

DSC03811

The next picture I took while I was waiting for the ferry to take us back from the island of Ometepe on Lake Nicaragua. A group of kids would climb up the rope anchoring the boat, hang there for a minute, and then swing off into the lake.

Screen Shot 2013-01-20 at 4.43.25 PM

This last picture is also from Nicaragua. Some kids were hanging out in the street taking turns jumping rope.

IMG_0472

It’s such a simple idea, but for some reason watching people actually enjoy themselves is incredibly inspiring. I want to start scouring the interwebs for pictures of people all around the world having fun (for free).

Leave a Reply

